Betty Crocker Cookbook classic – Toffee Bars

As I mentioned last year, this is the best all-time Christmas cookie.  Well, maybe not the best, but, since my Mom made them every year when I was a kid, they just represent the season for me and bring back memories.  I remember sitting on the kitchen floor, hanging out while my Mom was baking, waiting to scrape the cookie dough remnants out of the bowls or lick the beaters after the mixer had done its work.

My Mom’s Toffee Bars from circa 1977 are still the best, but the CCC makes a mean batch as well, and without the crushed walnuts on top.  (Speaking of crushed walnuts, that reminds me of a funny story from college when a buddy of mine and I went into the ice cream shop, ordered treats, and the attractive young lady behind the counter asked, “Would you like crushed nuts?”  I always love that one.)

Anyhow…

wait hold on…I hear a cool tune on the stereo in the other room…”The Dog Days are Over” – starts slow but fun the last half

Toffee Bars pre-icing

While still warm from the oven - top with chocolate chips (but don't eat any of them...yeah right)

Chips get melty and easy to spread

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Updated 10:00pm – I have already eaten five.  Co-workers get ready, I have to bring these into work Friday so that I don’t eat all of them.

Published in: on December 2, 2010 at 8:57 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://maherfamily.wordpress.com/2010/12/02/betty-crocker-cookbook-classic-toffee-bars/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

