Happy New Year!

When I was a kid, and day-dreamed about when I’d be 50 years old in the year 2011, it seemed SOOOOOOOO far off in the future.  Welcome to the Future.

Today, I am 50 days away from my 50th Birthday.

A friend recently recommended to me the book “Younger Next Year”.   It’s basic message is simply –  Exercise EVERY DAY to keep feeling good in the “next third” of your life.  It is co-authored by a New York City doctor and one of his patients who created and adopted a health and fitness life-style program and decided they wanted to share it.  Easy read; un-complicated message.  You just have to DO IT.   That’s always been my challenge.  I have decided multiple times that I was going to commit to a fitness plan, only to have commitment wane after a week or two or three.

New Year’s Day 2011 is another chance for a start at it.   Fifty days to my 50th birthday.

I better cut back on the cookies.

Good thing I decided at Midnight to pop the champagne cork out on the back deck. It flew a good forty feet out into a stiff breeze.

Had to scout out the location in the light of day this morning. Must be some kind of world record cork-flying distance. Certainly would have been looking at ceiling damage indoors.

Published in: on January 1, 2011 at 11:03 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://maherfamily.wordpress.com/2011/01/01/happy-new-year-2/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

